The Struggle…

Has been mildly real? Reality is a strange concept in and of itself, am I right? But that’s not the point of this assignment. The subject I am required to talk and elaborate on is what class I have found most challenging in my (two) years at this high school.

tumblr_ncbmh2UxhA1qkgd66o1_r3_500.png
Really? “Challenging”?

I know. Why am I not fed up with these asinine shenanigans? Well I am, but I have to do this to pass as a normal civilian that may be saved by Barry Allen. Or Captain America. Or someone hot. Hopefully not Deadpool though. I am not going to deal with that crap on that day. So on with the words!

As much as I would love to lie to you and say every class is a struggle but still I carry on, I can’t exactly say that.  Instead, I will be truthful and tell you that Honors and Spanish have been a bit of a struggle for me. So basically advanced English and a second language have been a bit hard for me, if I were to simplify it. That makes sense though: those classes are supposed to be challenging. Unless you already know Spanish as a native speaker, you are bound to struggle in learning a different language with different grammar rules, structures, and words. And honors is designed to challenge everyone in learning through different lenses and writing long essays at the end of a mini unit.

OOOH YOU WENT THERE

Oh come on, it’s just regular English class only with more advanced vocabulary and thought behind it. It’s like French: a fancier version of Spanish.

My technology teacher once he reads this.

Okay, I promise I’m done with the p’wning. Now to the artifact that I shall be showing.

In Honors this trimester we’ve been discussing literary lenses. The ones we have covered so far are Gender, Critical Race, and Marxist. Sadly, not everyone in my class has become a social justice warrior because lenses does not change minds instantaneously. That’s why Fox “News” still exists.

Dude you need to stop burning people. You need to get to the actual post girl.

Okay, okay. Here is my essay for presentation.

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.23.34 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.23.45 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.24.50 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-07 at 2.25.20 PM.png

I had a hard time writing an essay such as this. To prove that a so-called feminist anthem was actually patriarchal was quite the task that I put upon myself. However, finding evidence was even harder to do. The answers were never clear. Sometimes when doing essays like this, I feel like I should give up. And my grades last trimester were barely passing.

HOLY CRAP REALLY?!? HOW CAN THE WRITING GODDESS HAVE SUCH A THING BEFALL HER???

Okay, they were close to passing. But they could have been better if I had pushed myself. This time, I really did push myself to write a good, formal essay. And yes, I do put my punctuation outside of my quotes. That is what the rest of the world does, MR. MANK.

YES I CALLED YOU OUT!

I have been doing pretty well in Spanish from my teacher’s perspective, yet I will always feel like I am not doing well. Maybe that is just because Spanish will always feel difficult. I mean, my friend (elahahashmatullahportfolio.wordpress.com) has actually had a much harder time with learning English and Spanish! Yet she does even better than me in school. So basically she is a boss and you guys should check her out.

tumblr_n01111aC561t8zv7ho2_400
SHE DIDN’T ASK FOR THIS, I JUST LOVE HER OKAY?

In short, one does not need to do “bad” at something for it to be challenging. Success as a feeling only comes from overcoming something one struggles at. Honors is something I struggled at and occasionally did not get good grades in. My grades this and last year for Spanish has lead people to assume that I am the naturally good at this course. But really, I barely have it together for the class! Hard work is the only way to get great grades in a class and feel satisfied with said grade.

But hey, that could just be me! Tell me what you think below. I really would love to have a conversation with whoever besides my teacher reads this blog.

Kisses!

-The Lovely Ms. Artis

The Struggle…

Leave a comment